We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies from this website.
what are cookies?

To reduce the spread of COVID-19 in Scotland, businesses and venues in certain areas will close from 6pm tonight, Friday 20 November,as they enter level 4 lockdown.

Those to close include:
• Hospitality venues, such as restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars - with the exception of those providing food and drink for takeaway.

• Hotels serving food to qualifiying guests staying in their premises (key or exempt workers) up to 10pm, and room service including alcohol.

There is an exemption food and drink businesses located in level 4 areas providing services for the purpose of a marriage ceremony or civil partnership registration, or in connection with a funeral, subject to curfew.

• Hotels, hostels, bed and breakfast accommodation, campsites, caravan parks or boarding houses must cease to carry on that business.

• Entertainment and leisure venues including cinemas, nightclubs, dance halls, discotheques, concert halls, sexual entertainment venues, indoor or outdoor theatres, comedy clubs, museums and galleries, soft play, bingo halls, funfairs, amusement arcades, casinos, betting shops, conference and exhibition centres, snooker and pool halls, sports stadiums, bowling alleys, skating rinks indoor fitness studios, gyms, swimming pools or other indoor leisure centres or facilities, and any other venue which normally opens at night, has a dance floor or other space for dancing or spectating by members of the public and provides music, whether live or recorded.

Some of the businesses and venues permitted to stay open, following COVID-19 guidance and safety measures are as follows:

• Food retailers, including food markets, supermarkets, convenience stores and corner shops
• Food takeaways
• Off licenses and licensed shops selling alcohol (including breweries)
• Newsagents
• Petrol stations
• Garden centres

The areas entering level 4:
East Ayrshire
East Dunbartonshire
East Renfrewshire
North Lanarkshire
South Ayrshire
South Lanarkshire
West Dunbartonshire
West Lothian

(source: Scottish Government, image: pexels)